Vitae Impact, Culture and Engagement (ICE) Awards

Recognising the Contribution of the Researcher Development Community

Vitae ICE Awards logo

Is there a colleague demonstrating impactful work who you feel should be celebrated and recognised?  

Congratulations to our 2023 winners: 

Newcomer Award Winner: Oli Schofield, Doctoral Development and Training Manager at University of Bath

Innovation and Inclusive Practice Award winner: Helen Matthews, Institute Manager for the Institutes of Cardiovascular Sciences, Metabolism and Systems Research and Microbiology and Infection at University of Birmingham

Research Culture Award winner: Dr Loice Natukunda, Lecturer in Research methods at University of Lincoln

Outstanding Contribution Award Winner:  Dr Saneeya Qureshi, Head of Researcher Development and Culture at University of Liverpool

View the Vitae Impact, Culture and Engagement (ICE) Awards Shortlist & Longlist.

The inaugural Vitae Impact, Culture and Engagement (ICE) Awards will celebrate and amplify the impactful and innovative work being done by the researcher development communityThey will take place on Monday 25 September during the Vitae International Researcher Development Conference Gala dinner at the Revolution Manchester Gallery. 

The Vitae ICE awards will recognise the impressive contribution of our community to the shared endeavour of helping researchers realise their potential. The awards are in response to insights gained through the Researcher development strategy, provision, and profession survey 2022, member community forums, the Vitae International Recognition Awards (VIRA) project, and the reward and recognition discussions at the Vitae conference 2022. 

Taking inspiration from the Iceberg of researcher development coined by Ulster University and the University of Southampton in Valuing the impact of Researcher Developers, the awards aim to highlight the multifaceted role of the researcher developer, much of which often goes unrecognised. 

The categories for the awards are:   

  • Newcomer of the Year 

  • Outstanding Contribution 

  • Research Culture Impact through Researcher Development 

  • Innovative and Inclusive Practice