Research Council Common Terminology for Postgraduate Training

Research Councils UK (RCUK) has (7 August) set out Common Terminology for the different approaches to funding postgraduate training taken by the seven Research Councils to provide clarity and consistency for postgraduate students and higher education institutions.

There are four main approaches to funding postgraduate training through the Research Councils: Doctoral Training Partnerships (DTPs); Centres for Doctoral Training (CDTs); Associated Studentships; and Collaborative Training. The document explains the differences between these approaches and sets out the funding routes used by the Research Councils for these approaches.

The Research Councils continue to work together to share best practice and evolve their mechanisms for allocating and delivering postgraduate training. This common terminology builds on RCUK's Statement of Expectations for Doctoral Training, published in June 2013, which describes the common principles for the support of all Research Council-funded students.

RCUK is currently finalising terms and conditions and associated guidance for training grants across all Research Councils, which will be published in autumn 2013, along with a common set of associated guidance. The intention is for these terms and conditions to come into effect for training grants starting in academic year 2014/15.